New Jersey law takes road rage or aggressive driving very seriously. If you are charged with aggressive driving or road rage, your future may take a turn for the worse.
Road rage charges may result in a prosecution for a third-degree crime, where you could face three to five years in jail and a fine of up to $15,000.
New Jersey Road Rage Law
New Jersey’s new law enhances criminal penalties for drivers who injure others when engaged in road rage. This legislation enacted Jessica’s Law following an incident involving a 16-year old girl who was left paralyzed after the driver of the car she was riding became outraged after being cut off, aggressively chased the other vehicle, and crashed into a telephone.
New Jersey defines road rage as a crime if the person purposely drives a vehicle in an aggressive manner directed at another vehicle and serious bodily injury results. Driving a vehicle in an aggressive manner includes:
- Following another vehicle too closely
- Unexpectedly altering the speed of the vehicle, making improper or erratic traffic lane changes, disregarding traffic control devices,
- Failing to yield the right of way, or following another vehicle too closely,
- Passing or overtaking another vehicle by going onto the shoulder of the road
- Making verbal threats or insults, improper flashing of headlights, using obscene gestures
If you are charged in a road rage incident, you need a lawyer who is experienced and knowledgeable in this area of law.
Consequences from Road Rage Conviction
Road rage charges are devastating and affect your livelihood and freedom. Under that law, those convicted face three to five years in prison and a $15,000 fine. Aggressive driving that leads to lesser injuries incurs a maximum 18-month jail sentence and $10,000 fine.
If you or someone you love has been charged with a road rage incident, contact a criminal attorney right away. You will need the best defense possible before entering court. A criminal defense lawyer may be able to reduce or dismiss the charges depending on the facts of your case.
Facing charges resulting from a road rage incident means you need a strong legal defense to protect your rights and freedom. You need an experienced criminal defense attorney who is familiar with New Jersey laws and the court system. An attorney certified by the New Jersey Supreme Court should be on your team to ensure you get the representation you deserve.
If you are looking to hire an attorney to represent you, contact me today to set up an appointment for a free strategy session. You can reach my office by phone at 908-264-7701 or by simply filling out my quick contact form at the top, right side of this page. I look forward to providing immediate assistance with your legal issue.